Wigan Warriors Confirm 2019 Squad Numbers

Wigan Warriors have announced their squad numbers for the upcoming 2019 Betfred Super League season.

Many numbers have a remained the same, with notable changes seeing Morgan Escaré handed the number one jersey, with Joe Greenwood now in possession of the number 11 shirt. 


Other notable changes see Sam Powell and Thomas Leuluai swap numbers, with Leuluai reverting back to the Warriors’ number seven jersey that he last pulled on in 2017, with Powell taking the number nine jersey for the first time in his Warriors career. 


Grand Final hero Dom Manfredi retains the number 21 jersey that served him well in his extraordinary comeback from injury in the 2018 season, with fellow wings Tom Davies (No2) and Joe Burgess (No5) also retaining their squad numbers. After another impressive season on the wing for Wigan, Liam Marshall swaps the number 22 for 17.  


New arrivals Zak Hardaker and Joe Bullock will wear number 20 and 22 respectively, whilst Liam Byrne, promoted from the Warriors academy, will take the number 36 jersey.


Wigan Warriors, Executive Director, Kris Radlinski: “Releasing the squad numbers is a natural line in the sand from the previous season as we look ahead to an exciting 2019 under Adrian Lam. They are a few changes of note in the numbers that I’m sure will have grabbed people’s attention.


“Firstly, Morgan Escaré will take our number one jersey, as he is the full-back in our squad who has the most credit in the bank for his performances in as Warriors jersey.  Joe Burgess retains his number five shirt, having endured a difficult season with injury. Joe looks hungry and determined in training to have a big year.  


Dom Manfredi is delighted to have retained the number 21, the number that gave him the fairy tale ending at Old Trafford and Liam Marshall’s prominence over the last few seasons sees him awarded with a number in our first 17. 


 “With Thomas Leuluai and Sam Powell having swapped position to such effect last season, we thought this would be reflected in their playing numbers for the 2019 season.  It’s also great to welcome new faces into the group such as Zak (Hardaker), Joe (Bullock) and Liam Byrne from our Academy system.


“I don’t envisage this being our final list of players for when we head into our opening round fixture against St Helens. We are still working on the possibility of bringing in one or two new faces into the group.  Adrian has spent his opening week familiarising himself with our squad and looking at potential areas that need strengthening. 


‘’We will also be looking at what opportunities arise for our fringe players to go out and gain some experience playing around the Championship”


Wigan Warriors Squad Numbers for 2019


  1. Morgan Escaré
  2. Tom Davies
  3. Dan Sarginson
  4. Oliver Gildart
  5. Joe Burgess
  6. George Williams
  7. Thomas Leuluai
  8. Tony Clubb
  9. Sam Powell
  10. Ben Flower
  11. Joe Greenwood
  12. Liam Farrell
  13. Sean O’Loughlin
  14. Romain Navarrete
  15. Willie Isa
  16. Gabe Hamlin
  17. Liam Marshall
  18. Warriors Fans
  19. Taulima Tautai
  20. Zak Hardaker
  21. Dom Manfredi
  22. Joe Bullock
  23. Chris Hankinson
  24. Oliver Partington
  25. Craig Mullen
  26. Josh Woods
  27. Jake Shorrocks
  28. Jack Wells
  29. Liam Paisley
  30. Josh Ganson
  31. Liam Forsyth
  32. Samy Kibula
  33. Callum Field
  34. Caine Barnes
  35. James Worthington
  36. Liam Byrne

More from Local Sport

Cover art for Keep On Movin'

On Air

Spence Macdonald playing Five - Keep On Movin'